RSS Feed

SC Debate: Newt Gingrich Gets a Standing Ovation.

Posted on

Frank Luntz says that for the first time in his 16 years of debate attendance a candidate receives a standing ovation in the middle of a debate. I for one would have been standing right along with everyone else in the audience at the South Carolina debate. Newt Gingrich really hit it home in his battle with Juan Williams on the issue of welfare. It almost seemed that Juan was appalled at the idea that we would ask an unemployed African-American to get a job instead of living off the system. Will I be voting for Newt Gingrich? Absolutely not. However I support his stance on this issue wholeheartedly. Newt Gingrich said look there are ways to get these people jobs now let’s do it. I realize I am totally paraphrasing but until I get a transcript I can’t give you the exact phrasing. He’s got the right idea and he definitely deserved a standing ovation on that issue.

About Yvonne

After completing a degree in Political Science I am pursuing other academic interests. However I find myself missing the friendly banter and debate that was a part of the Political Science department.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Newt knocked it out of the park. | Jlue’s Weblog

  2. Pingback: Newt speaks the Truth… « An American Point of View

  3. Pingback: Without Cheering Audience, Gingrich Off His Game « The Practical Vegetarian Weblog

Tell Me How You REALLY Feel.

