RSS Feed

Media Monday: If Newt were an Animal

Posted on

I’m actually writing this post late on Sunday night but it’s 3 minutes til midnight so it will post on Monday thus falling under the Media Monday category. This article is inspired by Newt Gingrich’s appearance on Piers Morgan Tonight.

If Newt Gingrich were an animal he apparently would be an elephant. What does this have to do with anything? Absolutely nothing other than the fact that someone in some town hosted a zoo rally for Newt Gingrich. This brings me to my fundamental issue with the talking heads and celebrity news figures that “report” on the election. These people never address the important issues. They ask cute questions and generic questions but they don’t dig deep and figure out what makes a candidate tick. I realize that a lot of time the candidates make it hard with their prepped answers and incredible talent at beating around the bush but sometimes I feel like these media guys never even try. They ask about the scandals and they talk about what the candidates want to talk about but it just seems like they don’t report on the issues. They don’t tell the public what they need to know in order to make an informed decision regarding the election. It’s difficult to make a decision based on 30 second ads and 3 minute interview segments.

These people often ask the first question right, as in “what would you do about ___________ as president” but it seems like they always miss the second part of that which is HOW they plan to do it.

Yes ladies and gentlemen the media frustrates me.

Some days I feel like I get more off of twitter than I do the journalists. Who do you pay attention to in the news? Who is it that you feel is the most informative talking head or news celebrity?

Honestly I don’t care that Newt would be an Elephant if he were an animal. I want to know what he’s going to do as president and how he plans to do it.

About Yvonne

After completing a degree in Political Science I am pursuing other academic interests. However I find myself missing the friendly banter and debate that was a part of the Political Science department.

Tell Me How You REALLY Feel.

