RSS Feed

Herman Cain (Why I Can’t Support Him)

Posted on

Let me begin this post by stating that I am a PROUD supporter of the GOP. However I absolutely do not support Herman Cain. Earlier I wrote about my disdain for Michele Bachmann but at least I acknowledged her as a GOP candidate. I don’t even like to do that for Herman Cain. Hopefully after reading this post and the links I’ll provide you will feel the same way.

As you will hear me say time and time again, I do not like the religious right! It is the religious bigots, wing nuts, and whack jobs that give the conservative movement a bad reputation.

I understand the desire to have a God-fearing leader in the white house (believe me that’s what I want) but Herman Cain is a religious bigot to the core! This blog which I’ll be featuring in today’s blog roll later on hit the nail on the head.

Cain seems to always dig himself in deeper and deeper. He makes it obvious that he is anti-muslim and recently made the statement that Romneys religion is why he didn’t do well in the last election.

Don’t believe he is anti-muslim? How about some proof.

An article from Huffington Post said this,

“In March, Cain told reporters at a campaign event that if elected president, he would not appoint Muslims to his cabinet because of his belief that they would attempt to work Sharia law into the U.S. government. He later attempted to walk that statement back, saying “I am not anti-Muslim. I am anti-terrorist.”

1.) He is declaring to exclude a perfectly acceptable law abiding group of people from government.

2.) When he back tracked he is now showing his belief that all Muslims are terrorists!

3.) He tried to back track again by saying he would appoint any Muslim willing to disavow Sharia law. Hmm that doesn’t sound much like separation of church and state to me. That also sounds a little like a violation of the constitution.

4.) In this video, Cain said that he didn’t say he wouldn’t appoint a Muslim but he said he wouldn’t be comfortable with a Muslim in his cabinet. So, you’re saying you’ll appoint someone you aren’t comfortable with? That makes sense right? Then he said he would require an oath of loyalty before appointing a Muslim cabinet member.

Still don’t believe me?

He says that Americans have the right to block the building of Islamic centers in their communities. The last time I checked the people who wish to build the mosques are usually legal citizens of this country. On top of this, he tries to use the separation of church and state argument to back up his belief that Americans somehow have this right to infringe on the rights of other Americans. THAT DOESN’T MAKE SENSE!

I think from this alone it’s obvious that Cain is not fit to be President of the United States. If he is willing to exclude a group of people from government based on a misguided prejudice and support the violation of their constitutional rights as American citizens why would we want him in the White House?

Now why am I so reluctant to write about Cain and acknowledge his candidacy? It’s because if the GOP really wants to take back the White House we have GOT to distance ourselves from people like Cain. I said it earlier and I’ll say it again it is this type of candidate that gives our party a bad rap. It’s time to shun these types of candidates and gather around one strong center right candidate. Do I know who that candidate is yet? No but I know it’s NOT Herman Cain.

 

 

About Yvonne

After completing a degree in Political Science I am pursuing other academic interests. However I find myself missing the friendly banter and debate that was a part of the Political Science department.

Tell Me How You REALLY Feel.

